Crankshaw Sports Stats

1980 African Cup of Nations Final Ratings

Ratings based on 1980 African Cup of Nations Finals (host Nigeria)

1980 Champions: Nigeria

Field Strength = 98.45

Nigeria 581101.4098.2499.64
Morocco 543100.2098.4498.64
Algeria 56799.8098.5198.31
Egypt 56799.8098.5098.30
Ghana 311100.0098.2298.22
Ivory Coast 32399.6798.5598.22
Guinea 33599.3398.3997.72
Tanzania 33699.0098.7297.72

Methodology for predictor ratings developed in SAS. Methodology is as follows:

               i. Calculate an intial rating: (GF-GA)/MP +100 for every team
               ii. Calculate the mean intial ratings for all opponents as intial
                   strength of schedule.
               iii. Adjust initial rating of every team by initial strength of schedule.
               iv. Iterate through steps ii. and iii. until convergence or ten 
                   iterations (which ever comes first) to calculate final strength of schedule (variable OPP above).
               v. Adjust initial rating by final strength of schedule (using formula: Rating = Initial Rating + [Final Strength of Schedule - 100])

A Rating system for International and Club Football Teams